a lost blog

Mark Stevens has officially retired his blog – no more blogging.  He writes in part:

However, ultimately, as my good friend Simon Clemowreminded me recently the GREAT BISHOP, said in his “Mark For Everyone” Commentary of Mark Mark 9:38-50, “The second thing, within that [that being that discipleship is difficult, and demands sacrifice], is that sometimes what we are asked to give up is not something that is sinful in and of itself…We should be prepared to reject something which is good and God-given – as hands, feet, eyes and [blogging] are! – but which, at the moment at least, is leading us down the wrong path.”(p.127-128). therefore I might best describe this as an act of obedience and personal in nature. You may not agree with it, but I do ask you try to understand and respect it.

It’s been really great getting to know Mark – he is a great guy and he had a lot of great things to say on his blog – but I know too it wasn’t always an easy or smooth ride and I know some of the blogs of which he notes he will not miss, and I know the ones that he will miss.   All I can say is shame on those bloggers who’s blogs he will not miss.

But his point is well taken that sometimes following the Lord means even giving up good things to take on better ones (which is is why he says this is personal and not universal).

In a lot of ways I can relate to Mark’s situation – it’s pretty hard to keep up blogging consistently when you have small children and a job and the like – I now have two small children (a 2 yr old and a 2 month old), plus I more or less have three jobs: the church (voluntary – no pay) and two part-time jobs (paid) on the side, plus the need to have personal time, family time, time with the Lord, time to read, time to deal with church issues, and on and on the list goes, which is why I have slowed down a bit in blogging, and dropped off the top-50 list and so on.   So, I can relate.   Though I hate to see he retire his blog, I can understand and respect why he is doing it.

Grace and Peace.