A Christian Cocktail Drink?

It’s a little dated, but I think it is basically true:

Americans are drinking a cocktail that’s a mix of the Protestant work ethic, the American dream, and the gospel. And we’ve intertwined them so completely that we can’t tell them apart anymore. Our gospel has become a gospel of following your dreams and being good so God will make all your dreams come true. It’s the Oprah god. So I had to peel that apart. I realized I’m not supposed to be pursuing impact, I’m supposed to be pursuing God. And when I pursue God I will have exactly as much impact as He wants me to have.

Phil Vischer, creator of Veggie Tales in this article.

Nothing wrong with chasing your dreams.  Nothing wrong with a strong protestant work ethic (i could use more of it myself), and everything right about the gospel!!  BUT, whatever you do, don’t conflate them all in to one nice “cocktail” style drink, like a nice glass of V8 or something!!   The first two are good but they are not the gospel.  They may flow out of the transformation that takes place in us because the gospel confronts us and transforms us, but they are not the gospel and should not be confused.  :-)

HT: my friend Jace.

Leave a Reply

