Reader’s Greek New Testament – a Photo Review

Through the kindness of friends and family, over the last year I was able to one, replace my copy of Zondervan’s A Reader’s Greek New Testament: 2nd Edition and, two, for Christmas get the UBS Greek New Testament Reader’s Edition With Textual Notes.  In this post I’d like to share them with you via a few photos.  Basically, I am just posting one photo comparing them from the outside, and one each from the inside so you can see the text and the apparatus where the lost of words occuring 30 times or less are listed.  Words occuring more than 30 times are in a lexicon in the back.

I found the differences in the vocab lists in the apparatus interesting. While the UBS edition simply list the most common gloss so as to not slow down the reading; the Zondervan edition gives several meanings for most words.  Also interesting, the UBS edition has the vocabulary words in list format, whereas the Zondervan edition lists them in a more prose format.  The paper for the UBS edition is thicker and sturdier, while the Zondervan edition is thinner not unlike the paper in a typical Bible.  This probably explains the thickness differences.   The UBS edition has two ribbons, the Zondervan edition only one ribbon.

In my personal opinion, the UBS edition is easier on the eyes to look at.  It is the standard UBS text with the definitions listed in lieu of the textual apparatus.  The Zondervan edition is based on that text which underlies the NIV Translation and the text is based on a different script than the UBS.  The definitions are italicized.  It can seem a bit “busier” if you will.

Well, I hope this helps some.  Blessings!

Here are a few photos:

This one compares the sizes:

sizes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is the UBS edition:

photo 1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is the Zondervan edition:

photo 2

5 responses to “Reader’s Greek New Testament – a Photo Review

  1. Χάρις σοι και ειρήνη, αδελφέ!

    I’ve had the zondervan version of the readers GNT for a while now, and find it very useful! Seeing the version the UBS puts out, though, makes me a whee bit jealous. Those larger margins and cleaner vocab lists are aesthetically appealing beyond what Zondervan has put together (not by any means to downplay their work, which itself has been a huge time saver to me).

    I was actually just reading my rGNT, and had two thoughts: I wish my GNT had bigger margins so I could take some more elaborate notes in it; and, It would be sweet to an SBS style study in a GNT. It was a google search out of the latter thought that brought me to your site.

    Have you done much note taking/highlighting/color coding in either of your GNTs? Did you find it difficult to work with, or what was your experience?

    Keep up the kingdom work!
    Ευχαριστώ!
    Josh

    • Josh, you did SBS? Where? I wanted to, I applied to the SBS in MT but was rejected and it never worked out. Yeah, utilizing the GNT in the inductive method sure would be interesting wouldn’t it? I haven’t done it though.

      • I haven’t done an SBS. I’ve thought it would be sweet and an awesome opportunity, but as it is, I’ve had better training in the Bible than most, and so lately the Lord has been impressing on me to make use of what I’ve got training-wise, instead of seeking to get more. So no SBS for now. Maybe someday :)

        Hmm, that’s interesting. The additional glosses definitely are helpful. I feel like the parsing could be an unnecessary cheat, with the exception of irrigular words and funny forms.

        Another thought I’ve had is that it would be sweet to have a readers Septuagint and GNT in one volume. I’ve played with the idea of building one, but haven’t had the time or typesetting proficiency to be able to get too far with it :p

  2. Yeah, there are plenty of ways to learn the inductive method and not just or only the SBS way – though it is good. You can always read through Traina’s Methodical Bible Study and his Inductive Bible Study books and formulate a method that way too. I see what you mean about the parsing, though I certainly appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

