Philippians 2:1-11

I am puting together a sermon on this section of Paul’s letter to the Philippians for this Sunday (sorry I am just not as ahead of the game as those who can have sermons ready a few weeks ahead of time).   Still doing some background reading but my sources at the moment are Gordon Fee’s 1999 IVP commentary on Philippians (it’s an autographed copy!) and of course the backgound articles in the IVP Dictionary of Paul and His Letters.   I’ll probably try to consult as much as I can of Moises Silva’s BECNT Philippians Commentary online as well since I do not yet have my own copy Peter T. Obrien’s NIGTC on Philippians and Frank Theilman’s work in the NIVAC set

My basic point will be that, in seeking to encourage unity in the church, Paul used this hymn to set forth the example of Jesus Christ as a humble, obedient, servant and that these three things are needed for us to maintain goldly and loving relationships with one another, and especially so within the local body of believers.  In the face of trials and persecutions and those things that would seek to destroy the unity of the body – the attitudes of humility, obedience, and service are needed to withstand attacks both within and without. 

that’s what I gots so far!

any other thoughts?

7 responses to “Philippians 2:1-11

  1. I start a series on Phlippians when I return from annual leave so I’d be interested to hear what you think of Silva’s and Fee’s work (although I am using his other comm in the NICNT series) as well as Barth’s (I don’t hold out much for this one though) and the WBC comm.

    Brian, can you let me know what articles you are using from the Dictionary of Paul; is it the one on Philippians?

    Maybe you should spend 8 weeks and preach through the whole book? Just a suggestion.

  2. haven’t got to the Dictionary Articles but that is probably where I would start and then go from there since they mention other subjects that are also articles – also I’ll probably look too at the IVP Dictionary of Biblical Theology (a very important text!).

    perhaps I should do a series. or at least preach from Philippians when I preach since Debbie and I share the preaching.

  3. Thanks for the links Bryan. Right around the time he finished the commentaries (both IVP and NICNT) he spoke at one of our chi-alpha retreats and that is where I got the IVP commentary autographed – I was to unaware at the time why I should have got the NICNT one instead – I remember his teachings on Philippians – it was amazing amazing stuff.

  4. I am sure you know this, but in verse 1, it seems that Paul is using their relationship with him (I think that is why he say if there is any fellowship in the Spirit, any comfort… this seems to be in current conditions in chains) to drive their relationship with one another, he then moves to Christ who displays such Character in His “downward progession” then He moves to Timothy and Epaphroditus as examples, Epaphorditus almost losing his life. He seems to be showing them that their examples are caring, loving, folks who are risking it all and that they are to follow those examples. It seems that their suffering had begun to cause some divisions (Chapter 4?) and Paul shows that Jesus, Epaphroditus and even Himself has also suffered for their sake. Anyway, I may be off point but just my obeservations. Especially in ligt of “not looking out for your own interests” the examples Paul give are tangible examples and are used to encourage them to purse unity and selflessness at all cost.

    • no, it’s not open to see through the Amazon reader (“search inside” feature) – I know you can’t see everything with that but you’d be surprised how much you can get with it. I wasn’t really able to look into the other one’s too much either – time started getting away from so I just had to go with what I learned from Fee’s commenatary that I have and Hawthorne in the IVP dictionary.

Leave a Reply

