47% Calvinist

There’s a test going around to test how calvinist (one’s “C-Factor”) one is – it’s a terrible test really – so many misnomers and misunderstandings and non-sequitors it’s nearly appalling.  I mean, just because one is “hard working” it doesn’t necessarily follow that one has a “Calvinist work ethic” so therefore one is a Calvinist, or that because one is not keen on public displays of affection or emotions (which I am fine with as long as it is appropirate, we are afterall, in the image of God, emotional people) it doesn’t follow one is Calvinists and so on.  Well, I came out at 47%. 

It makes some sense anways, since I see myself as a mongeristic synergist.  I take the middle road.  (In Seminary Dr. McGee said we in our movement tend to be “Augustinian Synergists”).  God is alone the author of our salvation.  Period.  However, we are also to work out our salvation in humility and obedience to God and his direction in our lives.  Philippians 2:12-13 may be a prime example of what I mean by mongeristic synergism as it reads:

Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed – not only in my presence, but now, much more in my absence – continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose (TNIV).

So, we can see here that while it is God who “works” in us, it is also us who “works” out our salvation through faith and obedience to God and to one another in humily and service.   And this is how and why I see myself as a monergistic synergist.  I see tension between the two, sort of like that of a tandem bike.  It takes two to make a tandem bike work, does it not?  Otherwise it won’t “work” well.  To use the sorely inadequate analogy then, God works his salvation in us, and in tandem, we “work” out that salvation in our lives through our relationship with him and in our relationships within the community faith in which we are a part.

So I am happy enough to be 47% Calvinist!

13 responses to “47% Calvinist

  1. Brian and PeterM, I”m with you guys at the end of the day. Yes, by conversion and sanctification, I’m a Christ-follower.

    But regarding where I side on these debatable points in the history of the church, I’m a Calvinist from California. 😉

  2. Pingback: New Leaven

  3. If this test was accurate, it would be scary for non-Calvinists like myself. Atleast I’ve never thought of myself as a Calvinist. Or…maybe you might even want to call it a good Calvinist conversion tool. 😉

  4. Pingback: Some of the Posts I Missed Today | The Church of Jesus Christ

  5. The test is just really inaccurate. I scored 100% on Calvinist belief. This is within a week of my anti-TULIP post. On the other hand I got a 0% on sobriety. I average about 3 drinks a month (maybe less) exactly how I am I losing to the average presbyterian on that one?

  6. Pingback: I am a calvinist « Jack Of All Trades

Leave a Reply

