Will Jesus buy me a Double-Wide?

from the yahoo page:

Author Karen Spears Zacharias believes Christians have been paying good money for a false doctrine—the Cash and Cadillac Gospel. With humor and wit in Will Jesus Buy Me a Double-Wide?, Zacharias unpacks story after story of those who use the name of God as a means to living their own “good life,” as well as some unlikely folks whose genuine faith has led them to a different understanding of wealth

This is excellent stuff, really good.  One difference I think there is between classical Pentecostalism and the current trends in the charismatic movement is this issue of giving. It seems many in the charismatic movement over interpret 3 John 2, which is meant to be a simple blessing and greeting, not a formula for wealth.  I will grant there are some in the Pentecostal movement who have gone astray with the giving issue: giving to get rich.  Classical Pentecostalism emphasizes the power of the Holy Spirit for general Christian living and in giving witness to Jesus, not for all the junk you tend to see in modern Charismatic circles.  I know they all say “I want to give so I can be a blessing to others,” but the problem with this is that wealth is too great a temptation that when a person does give and God blesses that giving do they really bless others or does something else happen?

I believe giving is a major teaching of the Bible as God loves a cheerful giver, and he modeled giving through sending his own Son into the world to save us from our sins and reconcile us o God.  At the same time, however, I think when we give, we need to check our hearts and our motives so that our giving isn’t done for selfish purposes but in obedience to God.   Instead I think Proverbs 30:7-9 should be every Christians prayer with regard to finances:

7 “Two things I ask of you, LORD; do not refuse me before I die:

 8 Keep falsehood and lies far from me; give me neither poverty nor riches,

but give me only my daily bread.

 9 Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you and say, ‘Who is the LORD?’

Or I may become poor and steal, and so dishonor the name of my God.

I really appreciate the story she tells about the Marine and the lady who asked for money.  In the end he offered to pray with her for God’s provision.  I think she hits it on the head as to that being the main aspect of the gospel message: that life isn’t always easy but in the midst of it, God will be with us.

I read and reviewed her book “Where is your Jesus now?”  That too was good work.

HT: Jim West

2 responses to “Will Jesus buy me a Double-Wide?

Leave a Reply

