lack of posting

was due to loss of internet connection for about 3 days – hopefully now that we’re back online I’ll be able to get back on track.

in the mean time, I came across these astounding verses in Leviticus yesterday:

Leviticus 19:33-34 ” ‘When foreigners reside among you in your land, do not mistreat them.  The foreigners residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt.  I am the LORD your God.” (TNIV)

I know the sense of the Hebrew in verse 34 is “And when a sojourner sojourns…” meaning it may or may not be permanent – this may be moot – the foreigners among us (note about them being legal or illegal) must be treated with dignity and respect – well, it’s certainly giving me lots to think about.

What say you?  🙂

One response to “lack of posting

  1. Brian;

    After spending time in a Christian Spirituality lecture with a Greek Orthodox professor, (at an AOG Bible college) I have taken on board one of their essentials. That is that ALL people are made in the image of God and therefore deserve to be treated with the dignity and respect that image deserves.

    After studying the Minor Prophets this semester it has been impressed upon me in a deeper way that God wants us to treat all with dignity and respect and this is an integral part of social justice. God sent the nation of Israel into exile for lack of social justice and equal treatment of all within the nation…as well as failing to follow the prescribed cultic worship practices. As James says; I will show you my faith by what I do.

    I don’t think any one really has true faith if we treat others differently to how we would like to be treated.

Leave a Reply

