Matthew 12:36-37

Matthew 12:36-37 thought for the day:

For I tell you that people will have to give an account on the day of judgement for every empty word they have spoken.  For by your words you will be acquitted, and by your words you will be condemned.

This isn’t just a thought – it is a directive and something that should put the fear of the Lord in all our hearts.  This makes me scared to talk much anymore!  But also that I really need to watch what I say, how I say it, and why and so on.  I really do need to be more careful.  Lord, help me walk more consistently in the fear of you and your ways.  Help me not to treat words flippantly but with fear and respect.  Help me to walk in the fear of the Lord today.  Amen.

 

One response to “Matthew 12:36-37

  1. Brian,

    Yes, the words that come out of our mouth, can indicate surely our spirit. But, only God knows the heart, thankfully! Jesus seems to use hyperbole often to drive home His message, I hope at least? Note, Matt.7:13-14. The two ways were well-known in Judaism. We all wrestle with human weakness, and here can be the reality of sin! But evil too has been defeated In Christ, thankfully. Here is the real eschatological I think? Always metanoia, change and “penthos” deep, vigorous sorrow for sin, such is true regeneration!

Leave a Reply

