Western Seminary ThM scholarships

are now, for the first time, available to 5 aspiring Bible teachers who aspire to teach in nearly any setting involving Bible teaching (I think, except pastoral ministry).  the potential is a full ride (tuition only) scholarship.  It covers the first two years (which is the typical length of the program).

check it out over on the Western Sem ThM blog.  If this is you, the best time to apply was yesterday so you better hop on it!  lol!

6 responses to “Western Seminary ThM scholarships

  1. Thanks for passing this along, Brian. You are correct that the scholarship would not apply to someone whose primary vocational goal was pastoral ministry. The money has been donated to the seminary specifically for the purposes of preparing people for classroom-based teaching. So, we need to honor that. I’m working behind the scenes, though, to try and develop scholarships specifically for training pastor-theologians. That would really fit what I think is the true heart of the Th.M better. But, we’re not quite there yet.

    • the hard part for me is that I do aspire to such but sort of also aspire to keep my feet in ministry as well and neither are there any guarantees. don’tcha like my puddleglum take on this??!! 🙂

  2. I completely understand. But, depending on how many applications we receive, there may well be room for someone who’s a little torn on their vocational aspirations. You couldn’t apply in good conscience if you knew that you wanted to be primarily focused on pastoral ministry. But if you are uncertain and can legitimately say that you see yourself preparing for classroom ministry even though you have not excluded pastoral ministry (or a combination of the two with more of an emphasis on the classroom), I’d go ahead and apply for the scholarship. The worst that can happen is that you don’t get it. But, you already don’t have it, so it’s not like that’s a big setback!

    • I think I fit the bill – however, with my wife Debbie starting her DMin at AGTS – it wouldn’t be fair to our two small children to have both parents doing schooling and itineration and pastoral ministry. I may have to wait for the next round of scholarships to come around.

  3. Pingback: Scholarships for the Western Seminary Th.M. program! | Near Emmaus

  4. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a
    doubt donate to this superb blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and
    adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward
    to new updates and will talk about this blog with my Facebook group.
    Talk soon!

Leave a Reply

