On the upcoming revised NIV Study Bible

Don’t know a lot about it yet except that it’s due out November 2011. You can check out a sample PDF here (OT and NT samples):

So far it looks pretty good. I don’t really use study bibles too much, but this is one I will probably get and recommend for folks to use.

I hope the new update lasts a while, but with the recent SBC resolution to discourage its use or sale in Lifeway bookstores (even though the had stacks of them at the Lifeway store here in Renton, WA) I wonder how things will turn out. I think the fuss over it all is a shame and a blight on the American church. I think is much ado about nothing and is really an unfortunate distraction from the primary mission of the Church, which is the preaching of the gospel to the ends of the earth and the discipling of all nations.

Feel free to let me know what you think of the new update!

3 responses to “On the upcoming revised NIV Study Bible

  1. As a book designer, typographer, and font designer this new Bible is a disaster. It’s very hard to read and the scriptures are the most difficult.

    Of course, I really dislike Bibles that have more commentary than scripture on a page.

    As for the translation—it’s too hard to find in the mess of type.

  2. Hmm, I’m not too keen on it. It looks too much like the old NIV Study Bible for my taste. To me the TNIV Study Bible was a welcome update with regard to design. I like the font and single-column design of the TNIVSB and I think reverting to a two-column layout, traditional serif font, and centre-column cross references is a step backward. But to each his own.

  3. Sorry for the delayed response but I think with the massive popularity and success of the ESV Study Bible (which i have my own issues with) it has set a new standard for “Study Bibles” and anything less will be a hard sell and I think that is just the simple fact of the matter…

Leave a Reply

