passage of the day: 2 Corithians 12:7-10

in the Message Bible:

7-10Because of the extravagance of those revelations, and so I wouldn’t get a big head, I was given the gift of a handicap to keep me in constant touch with my limitations. Satan’s angel did his best to get me down; what he in fact did was push me to my knees.  No danger then of walking around high and mighty!  At first I didn’t think of it as a gift, and begged God to remove it.  Three times I did that, and then he told me,

      My grace is enough; it’s all you need.
      My strength comes into its own in your weakness.

Once I heard that, I was glad to let it happen.  I quit focusing on the handicap and began appreciating the gift.  It was a case of Christ’s strength moving in on my weakness.  Now I take limitations in stride, and with good cheer, these limitations that cut me down to size—abuse, accidents, opposition, bad breaks. I just let Christ take over! And so the weaker I get, the stronger I become.

i suppose one could go the other way too, don’t let suffering give you a big head or cause you to walk around all high and mighty…but I know of no person like that so… that is mute.

this is interesting to me too because in circles I travel in, weaknesses are scorned.  God heals so no one should go around sick or infirm or disabled.  It makes me a bit of a monkey wrench in the theology of some groups.  😉

Even so, do I realize that maybe my disability of hearing impairment might be a gift or an act of grace on God’s part?  It has to be.  My loss stems from a birthing accident.  My shoulder got caught coming out and so I was stuck a few minutes and in the meantime lost oxygen.  a few moments longer and I could have been mildly retarded.  so definitely it is a grace from God to be as I am.  In his mercy he has allowed me to be this way.  Unfortunately I have many times been nothing but a big ol blockhead about it all and have damaged many a relationship because of it.  The miscommunications from it all can be wearisome for both myself and others.  Maybe in allowing my to become hearing impaired, God in his forknowledge was saving me from myself?   Really, understanding all this and my role as a hearing impaired person in a hearing world is life long process for me.

but I guess in the larger scheme of things, are you in danger of getting a big head?

HT: Mark Stevens

Leave a Reply

