New NICNT work on Hebrews!

Yes, the time has come and the great dean of scholars F.F. Bruce’s work is being updated by none other than the great Gareth Lee Cockerill, professor of New Testament and Biblical Theology at Wesley Biblical Seminary, Jackson, Mississippi!!

The Epistle to the Hebrews (New International Commentary on the New Testament), Eerdmans, June, 2012; 768pgs.

This is the last edition of the NICNT set to be editied and approved by the renown Gordon D Fee, longtime editor of the series.

The kind folks at Eerdmans have interviewed Cockerill and today, part one was posted!  Here it is in part:

2. Why do you feel it’s time for an updated NICNT volume on Hebrews? (And what does it feel like to walk a mile in the literary shoes of the late F. F. Bruce?)

The Epistle to the Hebrews (NICNT)The Epistle to the Hebrews (NICNT)
(Click to order.)

I was just beginning my doctoral program when I had the opportunity to stand in the lunch line next to F. F. Bruce. It was in 1973, at the twenty-fifth annual meeting of the Evangelical Theological Society. Professor Bruce asked me what I was working on.  I said that I was doing my dissertation on Hebrews 7:1-25. He told me that he had just had a student (Bruce Demarest) complete a dissertation on the history of the interpretation of that chapter. One of my doctoral exams was on this very subject! When I had that conversation with Professor Bruce, I never dreamed that I would have the honor of producing the commentary on Hebrews that would replace his classic volume in the NICNT. I am humbled by the privilege that has been given me.

In our initial discussions, Gordon Fee, the NICNT editor, asked me to justify replacing Bruce. I told him that scholarship had made significant advances in understanding ancient rhetoric, in analyzing the structure of Hebrews, particularly through discourse analysis, and in studying the intertextuality of the New Testament’s use of the Old. In writing this commentary I have been true to these original arguments. This new volume shows how the author has structured Hebrews and arranged his argument to have maximum rhetorical effect on his hearers. I have attempted to interpret each passage in relation to this larger picture and to show the importance of each for the whole. I have also presented a fresh analysis of Hebrews’ use of the Old Testament that emphasizes continuity and fulfillment rather than continuity and discontinuity, the view adopted by many. By my exposition of the text I attempt to demonstrate how Hebrews’ use of the Old Testament can inform our own interpretation.

Looks like it is going to be a pretty important contribution to the study of the Book of Hebrews!  Part two is coming up later so he

Leave a Reply

