Greek Word Studies

Well, there’s more to it than that.  Consider the following from Dave Black:

10. Greek is good for more than word studies. In fact, in the past few years I’ve embarked on a crusade to get my students to move away from word-bound exegesis. When I was in seminary I was taught little more than how to do word studies from the Greek. Hence, I thought I had “used Greek in ministry” if I had consulted my Wuest, Robertson, Kittle, Brown, Vincent, or Vines. Since then I’ve discovered that lexical analysis is the handmaiden and not the queen of New Testament exegesis. Greek enables us to see how a text is structured, how it includes rhetorical devices, how syntactical constructions are often hermeneutical keys, etc.

So basically its not enough to simply have had a year of Greek and have access to a good lexicon or Strongs.  You need to learn syntax – not just the form of the words but also their functions and not just function as words but also phrases and clauses and how it all fits within the text being studied.  You can read more here.

And a couple of pretty good resources to get a hold of are both by Dave Black:

Linguistics for Students of New Testament Greek: A Survey of Basic Concepts and Applications.

and

Using New Testament Greek in Ministry: A Practical Guide for Students and Pastors.

Blessings,

Leave a Reply

