one of whom the world was not worthy

Kayla Mueller, the American humanitarian and born again Christian was killed in a recent attack on ISIS by Jordanian armies in retaliation for the burning of one of their own.  She was one of whom the book of Hebrews speaks about “the world was not worthy of them.”

She wrote in a letter to her parents:

‘I will always seek God. Some people find God in church. Some people find God in nature. Some people find God in love;

I find God in suffering.

I’ve known for some time what my life’s work is, using my hands as tools to relieve suffering.’ ‘I find God in the suffering eyes reflected in mine. If this is how you are revealed to me, this is how I will forever seek you.’”

She also wrote:

I have come to a place in experience where, in every sense of the word, I have surrendered myself to our creator b/c literally there was no else…. + by God + by your prayers I have felt tenderly cradled in freefall. I have been shown in darkness, light + have learned that even in prison, one can be free. I am grateful. I have come to see that there is good in every situation, sometimes we just have to look for it. I pray each each day that if nothing else, you have felt a certain closeness + surrender to God as well + have formed a bond of love + support amongst one another.

She had a strong sense of purpose and she knew how and where to live out that purpose – where it mattered most – in the midst of suffering.  Even in light of the unfortunate circumstances, was was indeed one “of whom the world was not worthy.”  You can read one of her letters here.

Leave a Reply

