Walking solves problems?

This is a really interesting post here about pilgrimage and how often times problems can be solved in our lives simply by going for a walk. I’ve never been on a pilgrimage, but I’ve been on lots of walks. I know the author here is talking more about spiritual pilgrimages, but one thing I so so miss about living in Washington state was the easy access to some really great hiking in the Cascade Mountains. I would go all the time for solitude and to just get away, and you know what? nearly any problem I was facing… solvitur ambulando. Blessings.

Pilgrim Strong

Screen Shot 2015-09-26 at 5.12.18 AM

It’s a phrase I’d never heard until just a few months ago. Solvitur ambulando.

A well-read and accomplished friend who’s already thru-conquered the Appalachian Trail made the simple post on a recent social media thread where I’d let the waiting world know I was out on a practice hike. Solvitur ambulando, he wrote, succinctly.

I was embarrassed not to know the Latin phrase, and too curious not to look it up. I’m sure that’s probably what he intended.

“It is solved by walking.” … solvitur ambulando. How lovely, and how true.

“The geographical pilgrimage is the symbolic acting out an inner journey. The inner journey is the interpolation of the meanings and signs of the outer pilgrimage. One can have one without the other. It is best to have both.” ~ Thomas Merton

I never even thought much about pilgrimage until the seventh grade when social studies teacher I had…

View original post 405 more words

Leave a Reply

