on knowing and understanding the Bible

I am not going to claim I have the corner on this market – but I was thinking about why biblical illiteracy is such an issue in the good ‘ol USofA today.  Many claim they can’t understand the Bible, or they can read it but don’t know what it means or how it can apply to real life.  Even fewer have actually read through the Bible cover to cover, ever, let alone even once, so on and so forth.

Now all I have to offer are speculations and possiblities not certain answers (and I know the Bible says to stay away from specualtions so I am taking a risk here).  But I was watching some movies with my wife a while ago and the time in the movies was back in the time of old west, particularly when folks were going out west to stake a claim.  One thing I noticed about the setting was that things took time to get done and the people had the time to get it done.  In other words, there was a lot of time.

I began to realize why so many of us have trouble getting into the Bible, be it reading it, studying it, memorizing it and so on – for many of us, we’re just too busy.   We’ve got our TV’s, our Cable, our Internets, and every other thing under the sun.  Not that these things are bad in and of themselves, but I think a lot of them prove distracting enough that tempt us to misplace our priorities.  In additon, these things also can tend to minimize interaction and thinking skills such that when it comes time to actually think, it hurts our heads or it exhausts us – or we just aren’t that interested.

If you want to know and understand the Bible for your self it will take time and effort to so that – and it will be well worth the effort.

Blessings.

Leave a Reply

